Train Station Girls

I’ve been taking the train a lot recently (several months now), and as such I see a lot of people. During all this time I’ve seen pretty much all the types of people you would expect at a station, such as: the young intellectual reading his/her book (usually on learning a new language), the teenager with their ipod turned up so loud that everyone can hear, the guy with the headphones dancing near the edge of the platform, the cute girl sitting on the bench, the businessman standing and looking at his watch every few seconds, the single mom trying to keep her children under control, the drunk that trips over his own feet, the couple smooching in the corner, and of course all the regular people just sitting/standing around.

One type of person (note I said “type” of person, meaning more than one) that I’ve seen a few times but never heard of before taking the train is the asian girl that always walks back and forth from one end of the platform to the other. I can understand if someone is just walking aimlessly around waiting for the train, but why would you walk from one end of the platform to the other and back? This just annoys people because you’re bumping into them and getting in their way so I didn’t understand it. The first time I saw this I thought that maybe the girl was just trying to show off their looks and maybe grab some attention or something, but that couldn’t be it because I’ve noticed these girls don’t make eye contact with anyone. My second thought was that maybe these people just like walking around, but that wouldn’t make sense because I see them downtown and the stations there are within walking distance from each other. If you like walking, you could walk to the stations at the edge of the downtown area before taking the train.

I couldn’t think of any other reasons why a girl would be walking back and forth on a train platform, so I guess either these girls are crazy or it’s just one of those things I will never understand. If anyone has any thoughts on this, feel free to leave a comment 🙂

(BTW, the pic above is from the anime/game “Wind” by Minori)

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

