Chibi Vampire

Wow, it’s been over a week since I’ve posted anything. Time really flies when you have projects due every day >:[

On the bright side, I managed to get everything done that was due in the last week with only an average of 2 hours of sleep lost per night. That means there’s only 1 more week of constant deadlines before I finally get a break (yay!).

So on friday after I finished my last assignment for the week, I decided to head over to the bookstore to pick up a copy of School Rumble vol. 11. While I was browsing through the manga section, a title caught my eye, “Chibi Vampire.” When I saw that I thought to myself “hrm, that sounds like it involves a cute girl and lots of fanservice,” so I picked it up off the shelf.

chivamp01

On the cover is a really cute girl, and that just got me even more interested in the book. So I read the synopsis on the back and flipped through the first few pages. Needless to say, it does involve cute girls and fanservice so off to the cash register I went with the first two volumes. It turns out the guy at the cash register was a fan of Chibi Vampire so while he was scanning my books, he kept talking talking about how good it was. Now, I had originally planned to just get the first two volumes and leave them for after my second week of constant deadlines, but the cashier’s talk convinced me to start reading once I got home.

The story was soooo funny that I finished both volumes in one sitting. It’s about a girl named Karin Maaka who was born into a family of vampires, but she has a condition that sets her apart from normal vampires. Instead of sucking blood, Karin’s body produces too much blood and she has to inject it into people or else it all comes spilling out of her nose ^.^ In other words, she’s a reverse-vampire.

chivamp02

I think ties look better on girls than guys.

I feel sorry for the poor girl though, she’s not only different from humans, but from her own kind too. And to top it all off, she’s a middle child and from personal experience I know that what they say about the middle child getting the shaft is oh so true. Karin also can’t erase people’s memories like normal vampires, so when one of her classmates sees her biting a stranger, it leads to some awkward but funny situations at school 🙂

It looks like she is having an orgasm >.>

It looks like she is having an orgasm >.>

I really like the art and character designs in this manga. Karin always looks so cute.

chivamp04

Of course, no romantic comedy manga is ever complete without the fanservice, so here you go:

chivamp05

After reading the second volume, I wanted to go get the rest, but I decided to wait until today since the store was having a sale. I went sometime around 1pm and headed to the manga section expecting everything to be the way it was on friday evening. Everything was still there except for one thing: Chibi Vampire -.-

I didn’t think this series was so popular since I’d never heard of it. A search on google turned up that Chibi Vampire was originally called Karin, but Tokyopop decided to change the name for the north american version. I remember Karin was pretty popular a few years back so I guess that explains everything.

Well anyways, in the two days I waited for the sale, the store sold half of their Chibi Vampire manga. I was only able to get volumes 6, 7, 8, 10, and 11.

I just noticed that Karins waist is thinner than her head...

I just noticed that Karins waist is thinner than her head...

Well I guess not being able to get volumes 3, 4, 5, and 9 is both a bad and good thing. On one hand, I won’t be able to get them on sale, and on the other hand, I won’t have 9 volumes of manga to distract me from my work. I placed an order for the volumes I’m missing online so I should have them next week after I’m done all these projects. In the meantime, it’s back to work.

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Chibi Vampire”

  1. phossil Says:

    I hope you could get all volumes!! Cool chibi vampire collection. >_<

Leave a Reply

