Sakura Nankyoku Nendoroid

pengiunnendo01

A couple days ago I got my Sakura Nankyoku nendoroid in the mail. I had actually forgotten that I had ordered this figure since I placed the preorder for it last summer which was quite a while ago. Sakura Nankyoku a.k.a. Penguin or Pen-chan for short is from the anime Penguin Musume Heart (Penguin Girl Heart), a pretty good comedy to watch if you have time.

pengiunnendo02

Pen-chan comes with three different facial expressions, two different positions for each arm, a pickaxe, and a hardhat.

pengiunnendo03

She comes with her school uniform which is nice, but I think they should have gone with some different clothes or added another body since she’s always cosplaying in the anime.

pengiunnendo04

The back of Pen-chan’s head reminds me of a fish. The bottom part is like the tail, the hair sticking out the top is a hook that the fish is about to bite on 😀

pengiunnendo05

What I don’t like about the way this figure was designed is that when Pen-chan’s holding the pickaxe with both hands it covers part of her face.

pengiunnendo06

The hardhat is a really cute add-on 🙂

Here are more pics with different combinations:

pengiunnendo07

pengiunnendo08

pengiunnendo09

pengiunnendo10

pengiunnendo11

pengiunnendo12

What I like about the hardhat is that it fits on other nendoroids as well, such as Shana here:

pengiunnendo13

Although Pen-chan isn’t as popular as other anime characters, I think her nendoroid is one of the cuter ones. It looks like Good Smile Company has fixed all the problems that I noticed with their older nendoroids (such as being top-heavy, and having hard to fit pieces) so there isn’t anything for me to complain about in terms of quality. Different costumes would have been nice though, I guess I’ll have to wait a few months for Good Smile Company and Alter to release their goth-loli and maid version figures of Pen-chan.

pengiunnendo14

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Sakura Nankyoku Nendoroid”

  1. phossil Says:

    Sakura looks cute with the hardhat…kawaii~~~

  2. Marshmallow Says:

    Didn’t preorder her, but seeing her pics here, I really want her. ^^ Super cute.

Leave a Reply

